Watch On-Demand

Missed it LIVE? Watch the Replay.

We know that your schedules are busy right now and we want to give all of you the opportunity to learn from our expert panelists. If you are interested in a webinar, or webinars, but are not able to attend the LIVE event, check back here and watch the replay!

You have questions… we want to give you answers. Make sure to schedule your 1-on-1 session with any of our expert panelists after the webinar.

TUESDAY, APRIL 21st

8am PDT
(9am MDT)

(10am CDT)
(11am EDT)

“Opening Remarks” presented by various panelists

Welcome to the first annual Virtual Brewers Conference! Brewers have always been the strength of their communities.  Brewers bring people together to support each other during the hard times, to talk about challenges, and to celebrate the good times. It’s times like this that the brewing community comes together to support one another while we weather the current storm.


9am PDT
(10am MDT)

(11am CDT)
(12pm EDT)

“Brewery Automation and Controls”  presented by Kevin Weaver of Brewmation

Any brewer can make a great beer, but a great brewer can make it again. Brewing has always been a blend of science and art. Proper temperatures, mash times, pH levels, and procedures give you control over your brewery that result in a consistent, repeatable process and product. But they also provide the brewer with the freedom to craft each beer to his own style, explore new ideas, or change things up to showcase different ingredients. In this webinar, we’ll explore automation in the brewhouse and how it enables the brewer to better practice his craft.


10am PDT
(11am MDT)

(12pm CDT)
(1pm EDT)

“Flexible Financing Options during a Crisis” 
presented by Jason Nadeau of North Star Leasing 

Join North Star Leasing as they present a clear snapshot of the current financial landscape for the brewery industry and help you gain insight into what your financial options are and what help is available to you.  They will also get you thinking about what you should plan for when we come through the other side of this.


11am PDT
(12pm MDT)

(1pm CDT)
(2pm EDT)

“Cooling Beer with Technology” 
presented by Jim Vandergiessen of Pro Refrigeration, Inc.

Guest panelists: Jim Weatherwax, Nick Gislason, Brett Cocking and Sam Wilson

Our discussion will be led by Jim from Pro Chiller with a great panel that includes some craft business veterans.  Hear how technology has been embraced, or perhaps ignored, and how it has affected the process of cooling craft.  Find out what “game changer” had the biggest effect to their organizations and how technology is impacting the jobs they do.

We also have panel members from outside craft beer.  An experienced industry leader, whose been at the forefront of Industrial IoT, will offer some great incite on the path we’ve been on, as well as what’s ahead in Industrial Iot.

You will also hear from a leading refrigeration equipment manufacturer in the cryo-chamber industry. See how technology is being embedded into specialized equipment to ensure proper operation, preventative maintenance, and emergency service.

Please grab a beer, log in, and let’s virtually hang out and talk about some of my favorite things; technology, cooling, and of course – beer!


12pm PDT
(1pm MDT)

(2pm CDT)
(3pm EDT)

“DEMONSTRATION: Elliot Gateway and Dashboard 
presented by Pro Chiller

Let Pro’s Team walk you through the newest Elliot Iot Dashboard to provide secure and complete access to your chiller system while providing a gateway to also gain access to additional information that is important to you.


1pm PDT
(2pm MDT)

(3pm CDT)
(4pm EDT)

“The Brewer’s Journey – Basic cart and horse timelines for the aspiring pro brewer 
presented by Scott McCormick from Stout Tanks and Kettles

The Brewer’s Journey is a Hero’s Journey – the process to getting a brewery open is vastly different in the small details but at a high level the process is virtually the same. This is a high level overview of major steps needed to go from home brewer/craft beer enthusiast to a professional brewery owner. If you’re early in the stages of startup, or if you’ve just begun down the path, or if you’re not sure where to start- this presentation is for you.

Milestones achieved in the right order can help ensure success, milestones out of order can send a project into a mire of delays and added costs. We’re here to be guides along the way to opening your brewery, we have combined decades of brewing expertise to draw from and we’re here to share. Starting a brewery is not easy but with the right help and guidance the task and chaos becomes manageable and very attainable.


2pm PDT
(3pm MDT)

(4pm CDT)
(5pm EDT)

“Brewery Filtration” 
presented by Trey Senney of Micropure Filtration

There are a number of places in your brewery that you should consider filtration besides your water and your actual product prior to packaging. Air, Steam & Gas filters can be used in a variety of applications throughout your brewery to help maintain the quality of the processes that you have in your facility.


WEDNESDAY, APRIL 22nd

7am PDT
(8am MDT)

(9am CDT)
(10am EDT)

“Adding Distillation to Your Brewery” 
presented by Kevin Weaver and Jabien Letlow of Brewmation

As the number of craft breweries continues to climb, it is more important than ever to differentiate yourself and offer something unique to your customers. One way to do this is by adding a distillery to your brand. In this webinar, we’ll discuss when you might want to add distilling to your process, what equipment and controls are needed to do so, and the safety requirements that are unique to distilling.


9am PDT
(10am MDT)

(11am CDT)
(12pm EDT)

“Selecting the Heating Source for your Brew House” 
presented by Brewmation, Columbia Boiler and Stout Tanks and Kettles

The source of heat is the heart of your brew house. Whether electric, steam, or direct/indirect fire is the best for your brewery depends on a range of factors. Your brew house size, the available utilities, and the initial and ongoing costs all need to be considered when deciding on a heat source. In this webinar, we’ll review the options available and weight the advantages and drawbacks for each to help you determine which option is right for you.


10am PDT
(11am MDT)

(12pm CDT)
(1pm EDT)

“Brewery Expansion, Don’t forget about the Cooling System” 
presented by Damon Reed of Pro Refrigeration

Guest presenters:  Jason Knox (Troegs Independent Brewing), Garrett O’Malley (Tree House Brewing Company), and
Glenn Lewis (Kane Brewing Company)

Often the cooling system is one of the final considerations when a brewery decides to expand. Damon will lead a discussion with an incredible group of brewing veterans tasked with taking their breweries to the next level. Focused on the Cooling System, the conversations will cover multiple aspects of the brewing process.


11am PDT
(12pm MDT)

(1pm CDT)
(2pm EDT)

“You have 1 million Questions? We have 1 million answers.” 
presented by Mike Paladino of Stout Tanks and Kettles

There are a million ways to open a brewery. We will focus on a few successful ways to open your brewery. The biggest question is to understand what your identity is. Are you a small nanobrewery or larger with distribution? What are the things I need now that I’ve decided to go forward with my dream? What is the right size building? What is the right size brewery? What equipment do I need? How much staff do I need? You’ve got lots of questions, we’ve got the answers. Learn the pieces of the puzzle and how to put them together. We will go over a checklist of items that are needed whether you are a small nano brewery, brew pub, brewery with taproom or larger distribution brewery.


12pm PDT
(1pm MDT)

(2pm CDT)
(3pm EDT)

“DEMONSTRATION: PROHeat2o – OnBoard Heat Recovery
presented by Pro Refrigeration

Learn how we utilize the waste heat from your chiller system to heat your water.


1pm PDT
(2pm MDT)

(3pm CDT)
(4pm EDT)

“FACILITY TOUR – WASHINGTON FACILITY” Presented by Pro Refrigeration


2pm PDT
(3pm MDT)

(4pm CDT)
(5pm EDT)

“Innovating your Cold Side Operations” presented by Don Marcil from Stout Tanks and Kettles

Guest presenter: Tom Bleigh, co-founder, pH Experiment

Tips and tricks, multi use vessels and equipment, process improvements and more.


THURSDAY, APRIL 23rd

7am PDT
(8am MDT)

(9am CDT)
(10am EDT)

“Advantages of Mash Filter Press in Brewery Settings” presented by Trey Senney from Micropure Filtration, Kevin Weaver from Brewmation and Chris Meadows from Elkmont Exchange

There are a number of ways to grow your brewery output in your current brewhouse. One of the ways is to add a Mash Press to your current system to increase the efficiency and speed of your Lautering process. This talk will go through the Basics of a Mash Filter,sizing a press, How the Process flow works along with operation & Technique.


9am PDT
(10am MDT)

(11am CDT)
(12pm EDT)

“Turnkey Brew Houses: Comparing Soft Piping & Hard Piping” presented by Kevin Weaver and Michael O’Neill from Brewmation and Don Marcil from Stout Tanks and Kettles

Many factors have to be considered when building out a brew house, including the brew house size, the physical space available, and the design and layout of the equipment. Both hard-piped and soft-piped systems have advantages and tradeoffs that will affect your brew day and brewing process. In this webinar, we’ll discuss the pros and cons of each style, exploring topics such as installation, cost, flexibility, upgrade paths, and aesthetics to help you decide which approach is best for you.


11am PDT
(12pm MDT)

(1pm CDT)
(2pm EDT)

“Low Oxygen Brewing: Improve the Quality and Flavor of your Beers” presented by John Watt from Stout Tanks and Kettles

Guest presenter: Bryan Rabe, Low Oxygen Brewing (www.lowoxygenbrewing.com)

Many brewers have tried to create lagers with that “true German flavor” but never actually achieved it.   Another way to describe the elusive taste is “fresh, lingering grain flavor.” Brewers try decoction mashing, triple decoctions, melanoidan malt, flaked barley, and so on without success.  If you want to make authentic continental lagers, then a proven method is to eliminate oxygen from your brewing process starting with your brewing water and unground malt and ending with wort in the fermenter with less than 1 ppm of dissolved oxygen.  This is called Low Oxygen Brewing.

  • Preserve the fresh malt/grain flavor that exists in your malt before you even begin brewing
  • Make authentic Continental style beers
  • Obtain that “lingering fresh grain flavor” you only find in fresh Continental styles
  • Improve the overall quality, flavor, and freshness of all your beers – even ales

1pm PDT
(2pm MDT)

(3pm CDT)
(4pm EDT)

“FACILITY TOUR – NORTH CAROLINA FACILITY” Presented by Pro Refrigeration


2pm PDT
(3pm MDT)

(4pm CDT)
(5pm EDT)

“Maintaining your Heat Exchanger for Peak Performance” presented by Kevin Tweet from Thermaline

Your heat exchanger plays a vital role in helping produce great tasting beer and ensuring that proper cooling of your wort is met. That is why it is important to implement inspections and maintain a proper preventative maintenance schedule. In this webinar, we’ll discuss the importance of why a heat exchanger should be opened and inspected on a regular schedule, and how to properly do so.